District V Fall Meeting Minutes October 14, 2022 The Barn at Bellemoor Belleview, Florida 10:00am-3:05 pm

The meeting was called to order at 10:00by District Director, Donna Thomas. The invocation was given by Tricia Evans, President of Pioneer Garden Club, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

Tricia Evans, President of Pioneer Garden Club gave the response.

Carol Stevens, Assistant District Director gave the response.

District Director:

- Appointed Janie Stewart as chair, Genie Smith, and Jo Lee Houlihan to serve as members to approve the minutes for this meeting. They accepted.
- Appointed Linda Schoellhorn as chair, Helen Parker, and Louise Allen to serve as tellers for this meeting. They accepted.
- Appointed Diane Lamoreux as timekeeper for this meeting. She accepted. She will notify members of time using her phone.

Patty Steck, chair of the committee appointed to approve the minutes of the Spring 2022 meeting advised the minutes were approved as presented and filed.

District Director recognized those seated at the head table

TO THE FAR LEFT: Jacqua Ballas, Chair for this district meeting Tricia Evans, President of the Pioneer Garden Club Susie Berryhill, District Treasurer Carol Stevens, Assistant District Director Suzanne Sindledecker, acting District Secretary and President of the McIntosh Seedlings Garden Club TO MY FAR RIGHT: Mary Whisler, 3<sup>rd</sup> VP of FFGC Christy Linke, 2<sup>nd</sup> VP of FFGC Tina Tuttle, 1<sup>st</sup> VP of FFGC Marge Hendon, President of FFGC Donna Thomas, District Director District Director recognized former District V Directors in attendance:

- Mary Whisler, DD 2017-2019, FFGC co-chair and District V SEEK chair
- Louise Allen, DD 2015-2017, President of Brooksville Garden Club
- Sandra Messer, DD 2013-2015, Life membership and pillar of pride chair
- Jo Ellen Allen, DD 2011-2013

District Director recognized national, state and district chairs who have not previously been recognized

- Sandra Arnold, District V Awards, photography, and Newsletter chair
- Carol Binello, FFGC/UF Short Course chair
- Brenda Davis, District V Youth Gardeners chair
- Devon Villareal-Dabbs, FFGC and District V Wekiva chair
- Cheryl Howard, District V Pennies for Pines chair
- Diane Lamoureux, FFGC 2023 Convention registration co-chair
- Skip Lamoureux, FFGC 2023 Convention registration co-chair
- Marcie Mason, FFGC 2023 co-chair Raffle Basket chair
- Barbara McGee, FFGC 2023 Convention/Opportunity drawing chair
- Elaine Parisi, FFGC Historian
- Pattie Steck, FFGC 2023 Convention Raffle Baskets tri-chair

District Director recognized all the Club Presidents and member of the Clubs.

Brooksville	Louise Allen, president	
Citrus	Lesly Smith, president	
Crystal River	Nancy Schneider, president	
Floral City	Janie Stewart/Kelley Wood	
Gainesville	Jo Lee Houlihan	
Homosassa River	Joann Grant	
Inverness	Helen Parker	
Lake City	Julie Schwarz	
Newberry	Genie Smith	
McIntosh Seedling	Suzanne Sindledecker	
Pioneer	Tricia Evans	

Treasurer:

Susie Berryhill read the financial report:

The Balance on hand is	\$1	1,753.80
Money Market Acct.	\$	5,249.14
Plus Interest @.05%	\$	.22

Total District Funds as of \$17,003.16 (The full report was filed and is attached)

Susie Berryhill, Registration Chair for this meeting gave the Credentials and registration report. The Credentials Report was voted on and adopted. The voting strength was 33.

The Presidents Tour presentation was given by Marge Hendon and her officers as a slide program that can be viewed in its entirety on the FFGC website. (FFGC 2022 Fall Officers Tour – on the home page, at the bottom under Photos)

Recessed at 12:00 (noon). Tricia Evans, President of Pioneer Garden Club gave the blessing and lunch was served.

Meeting reconvened at 1:15pm

The next order of business is the nomination of Kayt Huttlin for District V secretary. A voice vote was taken, and she was nominated.

The next order of business was the election of the District Director. Suzanne Sindledecker, acting Secretary, read the FFGC bylaws concerning the election: Article XVII, Section 3,Elections B, District Director (1) through (4). The floor was opened for nominations. As there were none, and the only nominee for the office of District Director was Carol Stevens; a voice vote was held, and she was elected. The District V Director for 2023-2025, Carol Stevens will be installed at the April 2023 FFGC convention.

A voice vote was taken for the offices of Assistant District Director - Sandra Arnold, District Secretary - Kayt Huttlin and District Treasurer - Dianne Shreve and they were elected.

District chairs reported (attached)

- Carol Binello FFGC/Short Course
- Devon Villareal-Dabbs Wekiva chair
- Patty Steck Convention Baskets
- Carol Stevens Membership chair
- Mary Whisler SEEK

- Sandra Arnold Awards chair, Popular choice digit photo awards were presented.
- Flowers: 1<sup>st</sup> place Karen Patterson, 2<sup>nd</sup> place Donna Nichols, 3<sup>rd</sup> place Dennis Boese
- Fl. Wildflowers, Plants or Tree in Natural Habitat 1<sup>st</sup> place Laucia Vranizan, 2<sup>nd</sup> place Liz Mueller, 3<sup>rd</sup> place Jacqua Ballas
- Butterfies 1<sup>st</sup> place Dennis Boese, 2<sup>nd</sup> place Dennis Boese, 3<sup>rd</sup> place Kelley Wood
- Garden Visitors 1<sup>st</sup> place Genie Smith, 2<sup>nd</sup> place Sue Hudrick, 3<sup>rd</sup> place Hallie. Peyton
- Gardens 1<sup>st</sup> place Jacqua Ballas, 2<sup>nd</sup> place Hallie Peyton, 3<sup>rd</sup> Sue Hudrick
- Seeing is Believing 1<sup>st</sup> place Sue Hudrick, 2<sup>nd</sup> place Donna Nichols, 3<sup>rd</sup> place Lucia Vranizan.
- WOW 1<sup>st</sup> place The Gainesville Garden Club
- Best of Show 1<sup>st</sup> place Karen Patterson, 2<sup>nd</sup> place Sue Hudrick, 3<sup>rd</sup> place Genie. Smith.

Reports of Club Presidents

The following Clubs read reports: Brooksville, Citrus, Crystal River, Floral City, Four Seasons (secretary read report), Gainesville, Homosassa River, Inverness, Lake City, McIntosh Seedlings, Newberry, and Pioneer.

Tricia Evans, President of Pioneer Garden Club recognized the host committee chair. Jacqua Ballas, Chair for the 2022 District V meeting recognized all members of the host committee.

## **District Director**

Thanks to those who attended, and GC of Crystal River for the wonderful meeting and all the work that went into this meeting. This District Director appreciates all the members of District V for supporting their district and making District V the best district in the state.

Julie Schwarz, President of the Lake City Garden Club gave the invitation to the Spring 2023 District meeting.

District Director:

- Is there any further business to come before this meeting?
- As there is no further business and no objection, the meeting will be adjourned.

Meeting adjourned at 3:05

Donna Thomas District Director